David Lambros's picture

Hi all,

I'm having trouble uploading files to the Media library using either the browser upload or flash uploader. I receive this error:

“test.jpg” has failed to upload due to an error
The uploaded file could not be moved to /var/www/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2013/05.

I've found that if I give 777 or 757 permissions to the "05" folder the upload works correctly. I'm new to linux and am having trouble diagnosing why this isn't working with the standard 755 permissions. My guess is that the "user account" wordpress is using is NOT the root account which seems to be the owner of the directory. 

Does this make sense? lol. Please help if you have a few minutes... 

Thanks!

Forum: 
Andrew Smith's picture

I don't think it's a "root" user issue. Directory permission should be "777" (read, write & execute) to upload the things.

David Lambros's picture

No kidding! Awesome. So if i recursively set permissions to 777 on the Upload folder will all newly created folders inherit the 777 permission? By default the wordpress media upload creates folders based on month and year and I don't want this problem to recur next month.

Jeremy Davis's picture

IMO it would be better to keep the permissions as 755 and give ownership to the webserver account (www-data). It probably doesn't make significant difference in the grand scheme of things but best practice is to keep permissions as tight as possible. Using 777 for testing is legitimate IMO, but there should be no need to leave permissions that loose in production. Root owned directories with 777 should have the same impact on WordPress as those dirs having 755 and owned by www-data. (FYI the 3 numbers refer to owner, group, others - 7 means read/write/execute; 5 means read/execute).

So personally I would do this:

chown -R www-data:www-data /var/www/wordpress/wp-content/uploads 
chmod -R 755 /var/www/wordpress/wp-content/uploads 
David Lambros's picture