Wade Schuette's picture

I'm new to EC2 and Canvas Learning Management System.  I have some experience as a sysadmin for Unix and MySQL.

I created my first EC2/turnkey instance yesterday, Appliance = canvas-13.0-wheezy-amd64 ,  and it appeared to be created and install OK, but when I try to connect a browser to the host   shewnexti.tklapp.com,  a web page with a Canvas Error comes up,  saying "Oop! It looks like Something Broke", but the page is titled "Canvas Page Error".

I haven't touched anything on the newly created server. I have confirmed that I can ssh in as root, but that's it.  Before firing from the hip or touching anything I wonder if there's an "obvious" step I missed.

I have been unable to find a manual or even any documentation for the step(s) immediately following installation, and maybe I'm supposed to connect via an admin port, or open the firewall, or something.  Instructure's admin manuals all start after installation is done, and all the on-line videos I can find stop after "installation" without ever launching the product.

So, questions -- does anyone recognize this situation and error?  Suggestions?

Is there a manual or documentation of any kind on managing and debugging the installed instances of the dozen products it takes to make Canvas work?

Where can I hire someone to analyze what's wrong and fix it?

Thank you!

Forum: 
Tags: 
Wade Schuette's picture

There is a slight problem with the Canvas LMS build, apparently, which requires getting a more current version of the redis-server.

I found the problem discussed on Github at

https://github.com/turnkeylinux/tracker/issues/143#issuecomment-295501398

and the solution which worked in that discussion  ( thank you JedMeister !! )

was to run these 3 lines:

echo -e '# Backports repository\ndeb http://ftp.debian.org/debian wheezy-backports main' >> /etc/apt/sources.list.d/wheezy-backports.list
apt-get update
apt-get install -t wheezy-backports redis-server