Kajiya's picture

First of all i don't know if this is a support question, so i place it in general section. (I guess i'm just missing something because i have near to no experience with this)

My problem is that i created a virtual machine with the Tomcar on Apache ApplianceIt installed just fione too, had no problems with it. Now i just cant figure out how to access any of the virtual web servers of the apache web server.

Starting the vm i get a screen telling me the ip addresses and ports of the server. I thought the first entry (Web: http://ip) would be the address to use to get onto the hosted webside, but i allways reach the Control Panel with this.

Am i missing some settings to start the virtual servers listening for http(:80) connections ?

I have tried to search turnkey webside for some beginners tutorial but was unable to find any for someone who is totaly new to this. Is there any 1by1 tutorial for total beginners availiable somewhere ?

Also i am not sure if this is the right appliance to use. I want to play arround with java based web started programs with a little sql server for data storage. The Tomcat appliance sounds like the right choice for this, but correct me if i am wrong.

Thanks for any help in advance.

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

Check this thread out. Hopefully that'll get you going in the right direction.

Jeremy Davis's picture

I have no idea about Tomcat but I'm not quite clear what you are trying to do. Browsing to the IP address should take you to the start-page/control panel (whatever you want to call it). AFAIK it doesn't come with a pre-installed "hosted website". You need to put them there youself and configure them in Apache (hence the link I posted above). I would assume that you then browse to them as a sub directory ie http://<IP-address>/webapp

Kajiya's picture

When i start the Server i get to a screen informing me about its ip address.