Rick Kipfer's picture

Is there any standard way of deploying TKL on Rackspace? Forgive me if this question has been handled somewhere in the forums, but most discussion I could find was back around 2010, and the general direction it was taking was that it was a vision of TKL to support other cloud providers.

I am a small developer and am more than happy with TKL and how it works with AWS. However, I get a really good feeling from Rackspace and would love to test deplyment there if possible. But if a simple TKL deployment scenario has not been developed, nor intends to be developed, I will not lament for having to stick with AWS. Just curious about developments in this area of "sticking with the main horses" in the cloud providers... I just want to make sure that I'm not mistaken when it looks like TKL has simply chosen to stick with the one horse... AWS.

Thanks all, TKL has totally taken a huge weight off my shoulders with my endeavors.

Rick

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

Although aAFAIK Rackspace are using OpenStack now aren't they? If so you can upload custom images then you can use the TKL OpenStack builds. Otherwise you'll probably have to rsync (like someone posted about years ago). Or maybe you could ask them to host TKL images? Seeing as TKL provide rsync mirrors it's probably not unrealistic for them to do that.

Joel's picture

I checked with Rackspace on this, since they offer their own OpenStack images.

The response I got was you can use your own custom OpenStack images, but they don't officially support it on the public cloud servers. (I believe they do support it on private cloud b/c that's what they recommended)

You can always sign up for a free Rackspace account and give it a whirl. Probably not a bad idea anyway as it gives you the chance to test the performance of your application on their servers.