Jason Lehman's picture

I'm new to turnkey linux & love it so far. Though I haven't found much documentation on the file server appliance, that I just setup. Maybe I'm not looking in the right places. Anywho; our main purpose (for now) is to use the sftp service in & outside our organization. I have users setup & they can upload/download files.

1. How do I limit the users to upload/download & even browse their home directory only? (now they can browse / )

2. How could I keep track of what/when certain users uploaded/downloaded what? (Any way of a log being piped or filter a log for a certain user?) We would need this as a "receipt" to show users came in & got their data.

Thanks so much, & great idea for Turnkey Linux.

We are a Window's based shop, but slowy I am moving more & more applications into Linux (at least on the server side.)

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

But you are right they do have read everywhere rights. I have heard of setting up chroot jails to have users SFTP into which limits this but I have never setup or used one. Also you may be able to acheive this somehow with permissions (ie a limited user group which has no read permissions anywhere except their home).

As for your second request, I have no real idea but a quick google turned up this suggestion. It will require some tweaking to do what you want and it is probably not the best way to go but it may suit your needs? Perhaps some more exhaustive googling will provide you with better results?

Also remember that TKL is based on Ubuntu so you may get someone to help you write a script to specifically do what you want over on the Ubuntu forums (they are pretty friendly and are much much busier than TKL forums).

Jason Lehman's picture